After trading in the town for over 200 years, the owners of John Bull & Co on St Peter’s Street have announced that the store will close for good when managing director Keith Peryer retires.
The shop, which is the oldest jeweller in Bedford, first opened its doors in 1817 and its closure will be marked with an ‘everything must go’ sale beginning at 10am on Saturday 5 November.
Among the bargains are two diamond rings, priced at over £60,000 each, which will have a 30% reduction, an 18-carat gold ladies Omega watch at £17,350 with 30% off and all jewellery – including diamond engagement rings – reduced to half price.
John Bull opened his first workshop at 49 High Street where he made clocks and pocket watches. The iconic ‘Bull Clock’ still hangs proudly above the site of the original store.
The shop relocated to larger premises St Peter’s Street in 1964, with Keith taking over as managing director in 1999 following a career that included stints at Garrard & Co and the fine jewellery department at Harrods.
Read the full article via Bedford Independent.
For further information on how Whitehouse supported John Bull & Co and can support you, arrange a confidential initial discussion, without obligation, by contacting us today.